7 Stages of Lewy Body Dementia & Symptoms

7 Stages of Lewy Body Dementia

Dementia is one of the most common neurological disorders, and it happens to the elderly group of people the most. Dementia is also known to affect many people around the world. But not many know, that there are various types of dementia that happen to people. And when dementia happens to a person, there are stages of it that follow. Early stages can help one to recover fast if shown to a proper doctor. But for that, one should know about the various stages of dementia. In our blog, we will be talking about Lewy body dementia and the 7 stages of Lewy body dementia.

7 Stages of Lewy Body Dementia

What is Lewy body dementia?

Before knowing the 7 stages of Lewy body dementia, let’s help you know first what Lewy body dementia actually means.

Lewy body dementia is known to decline the mental abilities of a person. Lewy bodies or protein deposits start developing in the nerve cells that are present in the brain. These Lewy deposits affect the regions in the brain that are mostly involved with memory and thinking. People also start hallucinating when they have Lewy body dementia.

7 stages of Lewy body dementia

If you are searching for 7 stages of Lewy body dementia, then you are in the right place. LBD or Lewy body dementia is one of the most common types of dementia that happens to people. It is followed by Alzheimer’s disease and vascular dementia. Here are the 7 stages of Lewy body dementia that you need to know.

7 Stages of Lewy Body Dementia

Stage one: No changes

Nobody gets to understand during the first stage, as no change is spotted. People happen to spend their daily lives in the usual ways they have been doing so. Scans need to be done if one intends to detect Lewy body dementia at stage 1. If one detects, then one can get a diagnosis and get treatment to get better. Mostly people get to know when they do their routine check-ups.

Stage two: Mild symptoms

You will be able to notice mild symptoms during the second stage. But you will be able to notice if you happen to observe them very closely and every day. You will have to keep them near you and observe all their activities and the way they are doing them. The changes include changes in the behavior and functioning of the memory. Simple words and names are some of the things that they will start forgetting. They will be facing trouble when they will try locating familiar objects. 

 Stage three: Mild Changes

Now, the changes will be noticeable and even people from outside will be able to notice those changes. One will face problems continuing daily activities and their work. Forgetfulness will be one of the most common symptoms. The one facing Lewy body dementia might start forgetting the names of his/her loved ones as well. Memory loss and concentration problems can be considered the other problems and other symptoms along with these.

Stage 4: Decline

At stage 4, physicians and doctors get to know and start treating. Most of the patients get diagnosed at this stage itself. The symptoms generally faced at this stage include choking and difficulty in swallowing. Patients at stage 4 have problems speaking as well, and forgetfulness becomes worse. Constant supervision is necessary and people often hire a nurse to look at their patients. This is one of the most necessary things that should be done when your patient is diagnosed at stage four.

Stage 5: Severe decline

The patient going through lewy body dementia faces severe decline at this stage. A person at this stage faces a lot of problems handling their daily activities. The person cannot be left alone no matter what. Fever becomes common and they need to be looked after all the time. Delusions and hallucinations become a common thing for them. They require assistance during eating and during bathing as well. They need to be taken care of constantly.

7 Stages of Lewy Body Dementia

Stage 6: Decline gets worse

Support and assistance are what the patient needs the most at this age. At this point, the patient should stay comfortable, and his/her needs should be catered to at all costs. Most of the patients at this stage start to recall memories from the early days as well. As time goes on, patients at stage six start losing their ability to speak completely. Fecal incontinence starts as well at this stage. Memory loss becomes worse, and present memories start fading away completely. A high level of support is needed to make sure the patient is passing his/her days comfortably.

Stage7: severe decline

At this stage, the patient loses their way to communicate as well. The stage is known to last less than 3 years. They fail to walk or do any movements in their body without someone’s assistance. Conditions worsen. Patients at this stage lose their control over themselves and their bowel movements as well. They become unable to chew, drink, or swallow. Everything needs to be done by someone, and they are supposed to get constant assistance at this level.

Conclusive Insights

I hope you like our blog and find it relevant to the search that you have made. our blog is about Lewy body dementia and further talks about the 7 stages of Lewy body dementia. Lewy body dementia has become quite common around the globe. If discovered at an early stage, it can be cured if proper treatment is given to the patient.

Frequently Asked Questions (F.A.Q.s)

1. How does a person die when they are going through LPD?

A person dies generally of heart failure or pneumonia.

2. Who is at the highest risk for LPD?

A person who is aged the most is at the highest risk for LPD.

3. Can LBD be permanently treated?

No, there is no cure for this disease.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *